Eight new cities announced to mark platinum jubilee

Stanley in the Falkland Islands is the first Overseas Territory that has won the civic honour, joining Douglas on the Crown Dependency of the Isle of Man.

Eight new cities have been named by the Cabinet Office as part of the Queen's Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

Stanley, capital of the Falkland Islands, is the first Overseas Territory to win the civic honour,  joining Douglas on the Crown Dependency of the Isle of Man.

Bangor (Northern Ireland) along with Colchester, Doncaster and Milton Keynes (England),  Dunfermline (Scotland) and Wrexham (Wales) will also receive city status.

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Steve Barclay said: 

“What was clear to me during the process of assessing each application was the pride that people felt for their communities, local cultural heritage and the Royal Family.

“As we celebrate Her Majesty The Queen’s colossal contribution to society, I am thrilled that we are able to recognise some of the many places that make Britain great."

The competition for city status has taken place in each of the last three jubilee years, with previous winners including Lisburn and Newport (2002) and Chelmsford (2012).

The contest was open for the first time to applications from crown dependencies and overseas territories and attracted almost 40 entries.

Event Diary

This year, Total Telecom’s Connected Britain is celebrating its 10th anniversary, marking a decade of networking, innovation, and collaboration. The conference is now the UK’s largest digital economy event, set to welcome over 7,500 delegates from the telecoms industry and beyond to discuss the hottest topics at ExCel London on September 11–12. 

DTX brings together creative minds and technology practitioners with the tools needed to drive change, enhance experiences and improve efficiencies across today’s organisations.

The countdown to the Environmental Services & Solutions Expo (ESS Expo) is on! As the UK’s largest environmental gathering, ESS Expo is set to take place on 11-12 September 2024 at the NEC, Birmingham.